Workshop on Metaheuristic Techniques and Applications (MTA'18)

Optimization is essentially everywhere, from engineering design to economics and from holiday planning to Internet routing. These problems are often so complex that finding the best solution becomes computationally infeasible. Several metaheuristic algorithms have been proposed to serve as solutions to these problems. They are stochastic in nature and inspired by nature's way of finding best solution. Quality solutions to difficult optimization problems can be found in a reasonable amount of time. New variants of metaheuristic algorithms are continually being proposed and are being deployed in many real life engineering problems.

The Workshop on Metaheuristic Techniques and Applications (MTA'18) will provide a forum for scientists and researchers to present their latest results and a means to discuss the recent developments in metaheuristics and their applications.

Authors should submit their papers online using EDAS. Unregistered authors should first create an account on EDAS to log on. The manuscripts should be submitted in PDF format. Further guidelines for submission are posted at:

We welcome submissions of original and unpublished work in all related areas, including (but not limited to) the following:

Metaheuristics Techniques

Metaheuristics' Applications

All papers that conform to submission guidelines will be peer reviewed and evaluated based on originality, technical and/or research content/depth, correctness, relevance to conference, contributions, and readability. Acceptance of papers will be communicated to authors by email.

We plan to have several publication options for the accepted papers of ISTA'18. Further details are posted at At least one full paying author of each accepted paper must register for the conference before the indicated deadline.

Key Dates

Paper SubmissionJune 30, 2018
Author NotificationJuly 15, 2018
Camera-Ready CopyJuly 31, 2018

Technical Program Committee

Gang Wang, Intelligent Fusion Technology, Inc., USA
Jongwoon Yoo, NASA Ames Research Center, USA
Nazar Ali, Khaifa University, United Arab Emirates
Grienggrai Rajchakit, Maejo University, Thailand
Jia-Chin Lin, National Central University, Taiwan
Roman Jarina, University of Zilina, Slovakia
Hadj Bourdoucen, Sultan Qaboos University, Oman
Seung-Hoon Hwang, Dongguk University, Korea
Alex Pappachen James, Nazarbayev University, Kazakhstan
Kittipong Tripetch, Keio University, Japan
Donato Pirozzi, UniversitÓ degli Studi di Salerno, Italy
Angelo Trotta, University of Bologna, Italy
Fabio Postiglione, University of Salerno, Italy
Navab Abid Ali Khan N, Vasavi College of Engineering, India
Chandan Tripathi, IIIT Allahbad, India
Ilka Miloucheva, Media Applications Research, Germany
A F M Sajidul Qadir, Samsung R&D Institute-Bangladesh, Germany
Franšoise Sailhan, CNAM, France
Amel Serrat, USTO MB, Algeria